top of page

I Am A Diamond, Are You?


DIAMONDS... A diamond is always a diamond isn't it?

If I had a daughter this is something I would share and groom her to be. Because this is how I have grown to feel about myself. It took time. I know now, I have to be clear about what I want, my standards and how I will be treated because no one else can do that for me. So, what I am about to share was inspired by Stevie Harvey.

.

I was riding along the 290 highway in Chicago, listening to the radio and Steve Harvey's talk show was on WGCI. He was sharing a story with women all over the City, and after hearing it for myself I wonder if those listening were really "hearing" him.

.

He said that men are like hunters. A man want's to know that he has attained a prize for himself. If he had to go to a desert a dig for days to find the finest diamond, he will treasure it longer than the one he finds cracked, scratched and kicked over on the sidewalk. The value is determined by how he attains it. It's just like when someone walks into a jewelry store and they have the costume jewelry on the counter that is tagged and hanging on a hook, out for everybody who walks into the store to touch and pick over. The price is low so someone comes along to buys this jewelry all the time. May even be easy to break and forgotten about after a while.

.

But then when the buyer looks underneath, inside the glass case that supports the cheap stuff, there are the diamonds. They sit safely and sparkling their best inside of a beautiful glass case. Admirers stare but can't touch without some care and intention of commitment. It is clear that these stones are "special" and are meant for someone who will appreciate and take care of them.

So then Steve Harvey \aAsks, now which one would you rather be ladies? The costume jewelry that is picked over, cheap and easy to get to on top of the counter; or, the precious pieces that live inside the glass case that are reserved for the best- for the one who knows what they are worth?

What do you think about this?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page